NBA renames individual awards; Who they should have been named after

Here are the newly designed and renamed individual awards the NBA will be handing out at each seasons' end.

In my completely unbiased opinion they got only one right and that's Sixth Man of the Year.

Here's who they should have been named after:

  • Most Valuable Player: The Larry Bird Trophy
  • Defensive Player of the Year: The Bill Russell Trophy
  • Rookie of the Year: The Tommy Heinsohn Trophy
  • Sixth Man of Year: The John Havlicek Trophy
  • Most Improved: The Reggie Lewis Trophy
  • Clutch Player of Year: The Sam Jones Trophy