Thunder's Mark Daigneault wins NBA Coach of the Year award; Mazzulla places 4th

Okalahoma City Thunder head coach Mark Daigneault dominated the voting to take home the Red Auerbach Trophy given to the NBA's Coach of the Year. The Thunder surprised the league a year ago making the play-in tournament as the 10th seed. But this season, not only did they claim their first winning record in years, their 57-25 mark was best in the west. The only team with more wins was your Boston Celtics.
Mazzulla's fourth place finish is due mostly to expectations. Boston was expected to be a top team in the league and while their 64 win total was more than most expected, this awards typically favors the coaxches that make a winner out of a loser.