|Rondo got robbed of an assist when Garnett got hit.|
While at the Garden last Wednesday I noticed three or four occasions where Rondo found guys open at the rim, only to lose out on an assist because KG, Sullinger, or Chris Wilcox got fouled and missed the layup. And that got me wondering, why is this the case?
The fact that his teammates were fouled doesn't make Rondo's passes any less valuable. If the player still makes the free throws, and the points still go on the board, why shouldn't the passer still get credited for the assist? And if the shooter makes one of two* foul shots, why not award half an assist on the play? Obviously changing the rule now would make it impossible to compare records, but shouldn't it have always just been this way?
* And on the very rare occasions when there is a potential assist on 3 free throws, I still think it should be .5 if one is made, and 1 assist if either two or three are made; it's not like you get a "bigger assist" when a player makes a 3 pointer anyway.
Follow Mark on twitter @LucidSportsFan Mark Van Deusen 11/11/2012 07:21:00 PM Tweet Edit