NBA Slam Dunk Contest to suck this year

Sources said that it has a new format which will consist of only one round and in which the winner will be solely determined by fan vote.

All four competitors in the 2012 dunk field are first-timers and will be formally announced later Thursday, sources said. Each entrant will get three dunks, with fan voting to open after the foursome completes their first dunks.

Want to know the contestants? No Blake Griffin. No Dwight Howard. No LeBron James. Not even a Nate Robinson or DeMar DeRozan. The four contestants will be...drum roll... Iman Shumpert, Chase Budinger, Paul George and Derrick Williams. Since it's all about fan voting this year my prediction is that the New York Knicks' Shumpert wins (Jeremy Lin will be throwing him a pass on at least one of his dunks).

What do you think of the field and the new format?